Tried and True Friday, Yellow Layer Cake

In honor of Dozer’s 2nd birthday today I’m going to share my favorite cake recipe.  Yes, I know you can go to the store, get a mix and not worrying with the hassle but I really like making one from scratch.

Yellow Layer Cake

  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsps vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2 1/2 tsps baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup milk
  • 2 1/2 cups frosting of your choice

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar until light and fluffy.  Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition.  Stir in vanilla.  Combine the flour, baking powder and salt; add to the creamed mixture alternately with milk, beating well after each addition.

Pour into two greased and floured 9 inch round baking pans.  Bake at 350 for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.  Spread frosting between layers and over the top and sides of cake.

From Taste of Home Cookbook

Give this homemade goodness a try for your next special occasion.

One thought on “Tried and True Friday, Yellow Layer Cake

  1. I am going to try this. I lost my taste for boxed cake a long time ago. I eat it to feel like a part of the party but doesn’t this recipe look so much nicer?! I think I’ll have a go at it next week with my DD:)

Leave a Reply

