My Personal Challenge

So last week I shared about how I don’t have a clue what a meal costs us and how some of the problem of determining that came from getting Angel Food and WIC.  Well due to circumstances out of our control we will not be getting Angel Food this month.  Knowing that made me take a hard look at what’s on hand and what I could do with it in order to stretch the food budget as far as possible.  So here’s the plan.  We decided Iwould have $100 for groceries for the next 2 weeks.  I still have/had meat for this week from Angel food so I started there.  I made a menu that is good until the end of the month and then came up with what I thought, hope, will be cheap meals.  I was using the store circular when I did this.  I didn’t take a picture of everything I got yesterday but here is a sampling:

And now here’s my menu:

  • Beef Noodle Soup
  • pork roast with mashed potatoes, veggie, and gravy
  • PB&J (it’s slingshot’s request for her birthday supper)
  • black bean soup
  • ham and eggs
  • beef tomatoe dish (it’s from $5dinners, I don’t remember what she called it)
  • waffles with chicken gravy
  • eggs and bacon
  • ramen with veggies
  • sloppy joes and baked beans
  • Chicken Cacciatore
  • chili

We’ll have leftovers at least once and we are using a gift card from Christmas to go out to eat one evening as well.  Now I know I don’t have lunches up there but they are normally sandwiches.  I’m hopefully that I can at least break down and share some of the cost of those dishes and become more aware of what a meal costs us.  I’m also hoping to not go over the $100.  I still have about $30 left and I know that I’ll probably need to get lunch meat next week.  I’ll keep you update as to how things go.

Leave a Reply

