Happy 1st day of school!

Did I say that????  Yep I did.  See I’ve decided that we’ll keep “year round schooling” a try.  The current plan is 9 weeks on 3 weeks off which works out that all of December and June will be off.  I’m really liking the idea of regularly spaced vacation and not a long “I’m bored!” break. 

Yesterday was actually our first day and while I wasn’t completely prepared (partly due to no ink) it went fairly well.  Now we’ll see how the rest of the week goes.  One good thing for the rest of the week is that I don’t work.  Today we’ll be going to the library for a Diasaster safety actitivity which should be informative and fun at the same time.

I’d like to share an idea I came up with last year with all of you.  This could be good for homeschoolers and nonhomeschoolers alike.  See growing up my mom always took my picture on the first day of school.  Never really understood it but went with it.  Well I’m kinda doing the same thing only the picture is getting attached to a page which has some other things on it.  Included on this sheet:

  • a spot for them to print their name
  • a spot for their signature
  • weight
  • height
  • likes/dislikes
  • something they would like to learn this year
  • what they want to be when they grow up

So now I’ll be able to keep the pages and have an interesting little “book” about them as they grow and can see what things have changed and what’s stayed the same over the years.  Just thought I would throw that out for you.

I’m slightly hopeful that I will be sharing more of our homeschooling journey this year.  I know I said that last year and I don’t think it really happened hence the slightly hopeful part.  I will in the near future be sharing what cirruculum choices I made for this year.

Until next time

One thought on “Happy 1st day of school!

  1. OOHH!! I like this idea. I think I’m going to try and do this myself. I may print out a template and go have a bunch of them printed on card stock and keep them in the filing cabinet so I always have them. Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

