Doing 31 days to clean

So some friends on line at one of the forums I frequent decided to do 31 days to clean from Like A Warm cup of Coffee.  Yesterday we did day 1: Priorities.  Here are mine:

1. God

I want to grow in His word and mature as a Christian.

My commitment: Read bible daily and maybe do the SOAP method to help with maturing.

Verses/quotes of motivation:

Thy word is a lamp unto my feet and a light unto my path Psalm 119:105

2. Husband

I want to be an “excellent” wife.. I want him to find solace and comfort in me, I want to be his biggest fan and his best friend. I need to be a soft place to land for him when is long day is over.

My commitment: Respond to him lovingly and intimately. Make an effort to serve him first. Be careful not to nag. Show respect.

Verses/quotes to motivate:

“A wise woman builds her house, but the foolish tears it down with her own hands.” Proverbs 14:1

“She does him good and not evil all the days of his life.” Proverbs 31:12

3.  Children

My goal is to train my children in the Lord.  Also as a homeschooling mom I need to be sure to take the time to listen to their questions, be aware of their strengths and weaknesses and help them find their gifts.  I also want to just have fun with them – carved out times in the day that are theirs.

My commitment: Work hard at getting my home in order so that I can be freed up to spend time with them, not worrying about all I have to do. Gain control of my time and schedule so that I have adequate time to plan activities/schooling for them.

Verses to motivate:

“Teach them to your children, And talk about them When you sit at home And walk along the road. When you lie down and when you get up. Write them down and tie them on your hands as a sign. Tie them on your forehead to remind you and write them on your doors and gates.” Deuteronomy 6:7-8

“Train up a child in the way he should go, Even when he is old he will not depart from it.” Proverbs 22:6

4. Home

I want a clean home – not a perfectionist home – but a home of comfort and peace. I want a place where my children feel security and warmth, my husband has a haven, and place where people can show up and make themselves at home. I also want to take pride in the domain God gave me to manage. I struggle with laziness, so this is sin that I must fight, with God’s help.

My commitment: Work hard, putting off laziness, and putting my family before myself by taking care of the home God gave me.

Verses to motivate/quotes to motivate:

“She looks well to the ways of her household, and does not eat the bread of idleness.” Proverbs 31:27

“Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for me…” Colossians 3:23

“Do all things without grumbling…” Philippians 2:14

“Hospitality is the message you give a person about their value.” Phyllis Stanley

5. Personal

I want to lose weight and take time to enjoy my hobbies.  My body is God’s temple, I want it healthy.  I want to enjoy my hobbies as they are a blessing from God.

My commitment: Keep pushing play and carve out some time for me.

Verses to motivate:

 

I’m not sure if I’m doing this for me, a friend looking for encouragement/accountability, or a combination of both but hopefully in 31 days there will be a difference in my house.  By the way, I am still using my motivated mom planner and I think it will fit fine with this 31 days to clean.  I’ll try to post frequntly with my progress.

Leave a Reply

