School Days

Currently we are studying Ancient Rome and Volcanoes.  I’ve already peaked ahead and we are suppose to make a “volcano pie” next week and I’m pretty excited about that.  We have read a number of books about Pompeii and I really can’t imagine what it would have been like for those people.

We are also reading The Bronze Bow.  Since I enjoy the fiber arts I thought we would all benefit from a trip to the local yarn shop that has looms on display.  The kids took some great pictures and I’m hopefully that they now have a better idea of what Leah sat at and worked on.  I was trying to find a local blacksmith so we could see what Daniel did but so far I haven’t had much success in that.

Here’s what our book list has included so far for this unit:

We also listened to all of Handel’s Messiah.  I can’t say it’s been a favorite part.  I might have enjoyed it more if we would have just listened to it as oppose to stopping to read the corsponding scripture but I understand why that was important to do.

We were suppose to make mosiacs and while I collected more than enough eggshells and the kids did draw simple pictures, they just haven’t gotten done.

We are also reading  Journey to the Center of the Earth.  I must admit I’m stumbling over quite a few words in that book but the kids are listening enough to ask what some words like savant and miser mean.  That’s always encouraging.

Well that’s about it.  I getting four more books from the library today to help with our studies.  As much as I would like to be wrapping this unit up I think it will go on until the middle of March.  Then we’ll take a short break and continue to the next unit.

Leave a Reply

