Changes for January?

Some people have mid life crisis, I seem to be having a midyear crisis.  I’m wanting a change for my exercise program, fear and doubt are creeping in over schooling stuff, and as I reflect on 2011 I realize not a whole lot stands out.  This leads me to question, doubt and want to make changes.  Course then the problem is where do I start?

Exercising was easy.  I picked a new video for myself, told myself I needed a challenge and thus I’m going to do Jillian Michaels Ripped in 30.  That is January’s goal exercise wise.  I want to complete (to the best of my ability) that video.  I’m not saying I’ll be ripped at the end of 30 days but hopefully I will be in better shape and then I can reexamine what I want to continue with.  The current thought is to do Ripped in 30 and then resume NRL4W stage 5.  All of that is of course subject to change.

School on the other hand, is much harder.  I have thoroughly enjoyed Guest Hollows American History 2 studies.  I find them enjoyable, easy to do, and just full of wonderful learning experiences.  However, I find that I neglect? the core subjects.  Oh we still do math and LA but not as well as I would like.  So my current thinking is that for at least a month I should stick to just those core subjects.  That leads me questioning my orginal picks for the year as to if they are enough or not.  To further complicate things if I’m to change things I will be without stuff for a week as we are to start back to school 1/3.  On top of all of this, Dozer wants to do school which I hadn’t planned on for this year.  That means better time managment so that everyone has some of my time which I struggle with already.

As for other goals, I want to set some but as one post I just read said you need to know what your priorities are so you have a “final destination”.  I have a vague idea of where I want to be but somehow that just doesn’t seem to cut it.  That post definately provides excellent tips I just have to remind myself I don’t have to have decided right.this.minute.    That is sometimes my problem too.  I think things need to be done RIGHT NOW.  but the timing is off and I can’t focus and then it all falls apart.  So I think I need to just pray about it.  After all there is no rule that says “Goals have to be set on 1/1”.  I coasted through 2011 if I don’t have goals set until 1/31, I will still have 11 months of 2012 to accomplish them.

It’s funny how typing this out has helped me.  It’s like, hey look, you’re typing good advice, TAKE IT!  So that’s what I’m going to do.  I’m going to take 2 steps back, pray, and then see what God is saying to me.  I don’t have to have my goals planned out for January 1st.

One thought on “Changes for January?

Leave a Reply

