I’m coming back to the heart of Worship

So this school year has not started as “I” planned.  To start with tennis 3x a week really only allowed 2 days for school.  This shifted my plans but we made it work.  Then when tennis was over I had a hard time getting into things.  Really hard time and like a brick hitting me on the head I realized something.

*True confession time*

Over the years, I’ve always just search and looked and picked my curriculum based on what “I” thought would be best.  Then I would ask God to provide the money to get the things I picked out.  Then about 2 months ago I became convicted (by a lot of the homeschool blogs I read) to actually pray about what direction God would like me to go.  Well friends, this led to lots of confusion and uncertainty and well anything but peace really.  In the meantime I also kept reading in various places about just using the Bible for your homeschooling.  Somehow the song “I’m coming back to the heart of Worship” kept coming to mind in regards to my homeschooling as I would read these things.  So while I was starting to feel like I knew what God wanted me to do, I still had/have concerns.

To start with my own spiritual life is seems lacking to do what God is asking me to do.  Seriously, I just don’t feel equipped to do it.  Maybe it’s God way of getting me to grow closer to Him as well.  Second, I live in a state that isn’t exactly homeschooling friendly.  I don’t know how do follow God and meet state requirements.  I know that if I take this step of obedience God will make sure that state requirements are meet.

In the midst of this I got a free e-book called Homeschool Sanity (I got it free through a special offer).  It’s 167 pages long and so I saved it and forgot about it.  Until this week.  I was looking over the list of pdf’s I have and saw it sitting in there.  I opened it and looked at some pages and decided to print out 50 pages of it.  After all, reading books for myself doesn’t often happen and I didn’t want to waste the paper and ink if I wasn’t going to read the whole thing.  Then something strange happen.  After printing the first 50 pages, I decided to print the rest and take it to work to read on my supper break.  It’s been a very good read so far and I can sooo relate to a lot of what she has in there.

Now mind you, it hasn’t answered all my questions and confusion, but it is helping me see how it can be done.  I’m starting to see what choices can stay and what isn’t so important.  I’m starting to see how something can come very naturally if I just allow them.  Hopefully things will continue to become clear and God will provide a way to make it all happen.

I have so many pictures I want to share and I promise to get them, but this has been on my heart and I needed to get it “written” out more for my benefit and than anything.

 

Leave a Reply

