Halfway mark

So for, oh I don’t know, maybe 2 years I have been trying to complete a 5k program all to no avail. I’ve tried 2 different programs and never got very far with them and often got discouraged.  About 2 months ago I heard about Run Your Butt Off and once again I decided to give this “running thing” a try.  I knew this time would be different though.  Why, well because 1 key thing stuck out at me from the book.  It basically said that if you are walking at X speed then when it’s time to run, stay at that speed and just pick your feet up.  This idea had never occured to me before.  I always increased my speed which would lead to me getting out of breath and ultimately not finishing the program.  Run Your Butt Off is 12 weeks (or longer if you need to take it out longer) and I have reached the halfway mark.  It blows my mind how I’m improving each week.  Course it wasn’t until last week that I remembered to start looking at fitbit when starting in order to get an more accurate distance measurement.  This week I’m up to 7 minute interals of “running”.  Never thought that would be possible.  Needless to say, I’m detemined to finish this program and hopefully run my first 5k at the end of October.

2 thoughts on “Halfway mark

  1. Best of luck to you!!! I’m a non-runner – my body just can’t handle and am envious of those who can run! You go, girl!!!

  2. Keep up the good work Girl. You should join the Run for God life group when it starts again. I hated running and decided that the first of the year I just needed to do it this time. I ran my first 5k the beginning of march and am now training for my first half marathon. You can do! What 5k r u planning on doing? Maybe we could do it together.

Leave a Reply

