Food Rut

I hate these ruts.  It seems like just when I start to get on a roll with menu planning I hit a rut.  Normally it’s because I feel like I”m making the same meals each week and it just drives me crazy!  Course at the same time when I do try something new, it’s not received well.  So meals that are frequent in this house include Macaroni and cheese, hot dogs, chili, ham and bean soup, tacos, sloppy joes, amish chicken casserole, and spaghetti.  yes, that’s a lot of paste.  I know part of the problem is my working outside the home.  I normally need to have supper ready or close to ready when I leave.  Those are all things that can either finish baking/cooking as I’m going out the door or that Bam-Bam can make.    In the past 2 weeks I tried at least 2 new recipes:  crab lasagna and swiss mushroom mac and cheese.  At best they scored 3 stars on average but it was definitely a once and while they are okay type of deal.    So far the meals on this week’s list include pot pie (the kind made in a pot, not a pie plate), salisbury steaks with mashed potatoes and a vegetable, chili, fried rice, chicken and broccoli casserole and probably ramen at least once.  Ramen, well, let’s just say I could buy stock in ramen, that is how well liked and often it is eaten here.  Again, it’s the same thing over and over but it’s what they like.  I don’t know, I just get tired of the rut.

One thought on “Food Rut

Leave a Reply

