Book List

All over the net right now you are seeing bloggers posting their book list for 2015.  The ones I have seen consist of at least 15 books for the year covering topics from marriage, parenthood, homeschooling, finances, blogging, almost everything really.  And then there’s me.  By about 4th grade, I LOVED to read.  Loved it.  By 8th grade I was reading while walking between classes (even if that walked included stairs).  You could almost always find me with a book in my hand.

Then I became an adult and work and kids and schooling kids and well you get the picture.  Besides reading my Bible (which let’s be honest isn’t always as consistent as I would like it to be) I’m not even sure what the last book I read was.  Well that last book that was for my personal enjoyment or enrichment.  I can tell you what I have read to the kids.  Give me time and I can read you the list the older 3 have read so far this year.  But me.  I don’t have, make, take the time to read myself.  In fact when the idea for this post came to mind, I was going to make a goal to read 3-4 books that have been on my shelves just waiting to be read.  But, I’m sorta sure that’s a goal I won’t accomplish so I’m not making it.  If my little world changes and I get a book read, I will share it by all means.

 

So what about you?  Do you find you can get books read?  If so how do you do it and how do you decide which books to read?

This was Bam-Bam's summer reading goal one year.  If I remember correctly he read them all and then some.

This was Bam-Bam’s summer reading goal one year. If I remember correctly he read them all and then some.

2 thoughts on “Book List

  1. Loved your blog on books. I enjoy books and make the time to read. On busier days it may be little bits of time throughout the day. I try to wake up early to have my own time or read late into the night (on occasion into the wee hours of the morning with a very good book.)
    My sixth grader and I try to read 45-60 minutes daily for school. (this doesn’t happen every day, but I try.) So on top of his school books he also reads for leisure.
    As for myself, I have a great library in my home of books I’ve collected over the years so I read what grabs me. On occasions I’m reading five books at once and on the rarer occasion only one at a time. (I count the books I read aloud for school).
    I don’t ever seem to have trouble finding a book to read. There are many sites that give good suggestions: shelfari.com, goodreads.com, even amazon gives recommendations.

Leave a Reply

